“Home”

22 Jun

There is nothing like having your husband travel to inspire all kinds of unusual activity. “Moi? Mow the lawn? Surely you jest. Uh… wait… you’re serious. Uh oh!”

In addition to some of those unsavory tasks (and yes, I did manage to avoid taking the trash out the entire time; I’ve seriously never been more devoted to reduce, reuse and recycle than I have in the last weeks), I also found it to be a lovely opportunity to redecorate! Pictures hung? Check! New colors (including bedding) in the bedroom? Check! Different furniture arrangement in the living room? Check! And Hurray! Our dining room table no longer looks like a desk (mail, computer monitor, and pen holder all re-placed in the actual office)!

I also found a new favorite song. It’s not really new, but it sure does speak to my heart in a new way: “Home” by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes. The lyrics detail a couple of lovers recalling when he first realized he loved her. “Holy Moley, Me-oh-My, you’re the apple of my eye / Girl, I’ve never loved one like you / Man, oh man, you’re my best friend, /I scream it to the nothingness / There ain’t nothin’ that I need.” I really love the chorus, too: “ahh home / let me come home / home is wherever I’m with you.” For all the rearranging and redecorating and cleaning up I did, it really didn’t feel like home until he arrived in my arms tonight. Yes, that is as sappy as I’m going to get for today.  🙂

3 Responses to ““Home””

  1. artzent July 7, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Awesome video and love the sang!

    • jimmyandjulia July 9, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

      To this day, I still think I can’t get enough of it, to be honest! Its so cheerful and full of life!

  2. artzent July 7, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    whoops! song.

Leave a Reply

