Perfect Date Night

4 Jul

My husband can say the sweetest things to me. One of my favorites occurred early last week when pretty much out of the blue he turned to me on the couch and said something like, “I love hanging out with you. I’d rather do nothing with you than something with anyone else.” Isn’t that the best? I guess the only problem with that is that we still don’t manage to squeeze in many date nights. I’ve decided to make that a much higher priority going forward. What do you do for date nights? How often do you plan them?

We started off the night with dinner at a local “gastropub,” and this one was a keeper (in parentheses because they refer to themselves that way, but its really not as fancy as all that)! It’s called the “Bookhouse Pub” (which just sounds like it would be right up my alley). There was a wee wait for a spot to sit, so we had a drink to get started. When I saw “Hell or High Watermelon” beer on the

20120704-113239.jpglist, I heard it calling my name! Nothing is more summer-y than watermelon (and peaches), wheat beers are my favorites, and the name is just funny enough to get my attention. I’m glad it did! It was very tasty – and it did a great job of blending watermelon and beer tastes in my mouth!

I can imagine that many people would disagree with the following statement, but I really don’t consider myself a picky eater. That being said, I don’t like potato chips or bleu cheese. That sweet talker of a husband, though, convinced me

20120704-113309.jpgthat we should start our meal with this pile of gooey goodness: house-made potato chips covered with bleu cheese, cilantro, tomatoes, and chipotle. Again… a surprising winner in my book! We followed this obviously health-conscious started with burgers (mine the house-made veggie burger, his the burger named after the house) and food happiness filled us up.

After this tasty beginning, we ventured to the Botanical Garden, which is my very favorite place in the whole world of local options. One night each week during the summer, they hold an event they call “social irrigation”: Cocktails in the Garden. This summer, they are also hosting a sculpture exhibition. Sculpture is so powerful to me, even when I don’t “get it.” Throughout the garden, though, there were many really cool pieces, nicely set off by the lights.

20120704-113343.jpg20120704-113403.jpg

We wandered throughout the Garden, doing a little people watching, a little star-gazing, and a little flower gaping, and as we approached the Orchid House, we found a small exhibition of other art works, including this piece by my lovely friend Jenny! It’s so cool to see your friends do well!! Jenny is amazingly talented (not well displayed on my phone camera picture, I’m afraid).
2 Responses to “Perfect Date Night”

  1. ArbitraryAmbrosia July 5, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    Jon and I also struggle in planning date nights! Way too many of our nights out seem to be centered around a big group, but when we do go out its usually to a nice dinner and then off to somewhere to do some walking and people watching. Your date night sounds pretty ideal considering mine and Jon’s standards 🙂 I believe the botanical gardens is going to be on the list for our next date night! Hope you had a Happy 4th!

    • jimmyandjulia July 5, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      That’s exactly our problem: between groups of friends and family events, a lot of our “out” time is already planned. But… I really want to make more of the time that is just us. Let me know if you stumble upon something that is really fun, though, and I’ll let you know if I find anything!

Leave a Reply

