Garden’s Progress

6 Jul

It is almost unspeakable how much joy this small little bit of dirt and seed have given me in the last 3 months. From the time I saw the first evidence of germination, through all the dirty fingernails (sometimes I just start messing with them before I think to get the garden gloves on), the delicious basil, to my first squash casserole (and I have never been a big veggie casserole kind of girl, but this was out of sight; it’s another post, actually; it was THAT good). I’m trying not to dwell too much on the actual fruit of the garden but on the sheer life of it, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say how much I love it that we have actually based WHOLE MEALS on what has come from our yard!

These 1st 2 pictures were snapped on 28 April, 2012:

Ready for planting

tomatoes and basil, grown from seed together, and some became inseparable!

The following pictures were taken today, 6 July 2012: Amazing!!

20120706-122501.jpg
Squash (up front) and lettuce in the rear
20120706-122541.jpg

Mint (up front) and imperial black eggplant in the rear

20120706-122605.jpg

Basil (can you believe we eat this almost every night we cook at home?!?) with an errant tomato plant that seeded itself among the basil (it felt a little caprese coming on, too!)

Roma tomatoes (up front), Peacevine Cherry tomatoes in the rear)

Cherry tomatoes, almost reporting for action!

4 Responses to “Garden’s Progress”

  1. artzent July 6, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    Beautiful photos. You are an excellent gardener and photographer!

    • jimmyandjulia July 7, 2012 at 1:38 am #

      Thank you so much! I’m afraid I rarely feel like either an excellent gardener or photographer, but I sure do appreciate the compliment! Very encouraging!

  2. pobept July 7, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I think the thrill of seeing that tiny seed grow into a fruiting plant is as deep seated in the human genome as how humans must have felt when they discovered that fire would keep them warm and cook raw foods.

    • jimmyandjulia July 7, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      It really is unbelievable, isn’t it? In fact, I used to refer to them as “the babies” (we don’t have any children), but then, I started calling them “the kids.” It is kind of like watching a whole life even give life when I see the fruits emerge.

Leave a Reply

